IPL Players with most Matches as a Captain in the IPL

    IPL Players with most Matches as a Captain in the IPL

    The IPL 2020 season is all set to kickstart from 19th September in UAE. Every team is training hard and will look to get their hands on the coveted IPL trophy. Each team is blessed with a tactically-strong captain, and these top captains will expect nothing less than their players but to win the IPL 2020 season.

    Following is the list of such powerful players with most matches as IPL captain:

    1. MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiants) – 174 matches

    The captain cool has the best cricketing brain, no wonder that he has won IPL trophy 3 times as a leader with Chennai Super Kings. Along with captaining CSK, MS Dhoni has also led the Rising Pune Supergiants.

    Overall, he has been an IPL captain in 174 matches, most by any player in the IPL history. He holds an impressive winning percentage of 60.11, winning 104 matches out of 174. This charismatic captain plays his cards right and is always known to be 2 steps ahead of his opponents.

    Dhoni, in the 2020 IPL season, will look to marshal his troops to yet another IPL glory. CSK will be heavily reliant on the calming presence of MSD and his ability to finish the game.

    2. Gautam Gambhir (Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders) -129 matches

    The street-smart cricketer, Gautam Gambhir, has always been a fierce competitor. He has always played for the team and led from the front. Gautam Gambhir has an aggressive way of captaincy, and that worked wonders for KKR. He is a 2-time IPL winning captain with KKR in 2012 and 2014.

      Gautam Gambhir has been an IPL captain in 129 matches. He holds an impressive winning percentage of 55.42, winning 71 games out of 129. This big-hearted cricketer knew it was time and stepped down as a captain mid-season in 2018, giving the young Shreyas Iyer a chance to lead the Delhi side.

    The feisty nature and never say die attitude made Gautam Gambhir one of the most successful IPL captains.

    3. Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 110 matches

    Known as one of the most competitive cricketers, Virat Kohli has been the backbone of the RCB setup since the inception of IPL. Ever since he overtook the RCB captaincy, he has always led from the front and tried hard to win the IPL trophy.

    In 2016, under the leadership of King Kohli, RCB made it to the finals but lost by the barest of margins against Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 110 matches that Virat Kohli has led so far, he has managed to win 49 matches. As a captain, Virat Kohli has a win percentage of 47.16. Batting has always been the strong part of the RCB team; this season, they will look to strengthen their bowling attack.

    Virat Kohli will look to be tactically sound as a captain and to win the IPL trophy that has been eluding the RCB since the start of IPL in 2008.

    4. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians) – 104 matches

    The mainstay at the top order for the Mumbai Indians and their Captain genius Rohit Sharma is in brilliant white-ball form. This impressive and tactically-strong captain has led Mumbai Indians to IPL glory 4 times.

    After overtaking the captaincy of Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma has changed their fortunes and won IPL trophies in 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019. He boasts of an impressive 58.65 win percentage, winning 60 out of 104 games.

     As Mumbai Indians look forward to winning the IPL 2020 season, they will hope that Rohit Sharma will lead the team just the way he does if not better.

    5. Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers, Kings 11 Punjab) – 74 matches

    The feisty Australian wicket-keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist has always been a proactive leader. In the second IPL season in 2009, he led Deccan Chargers to the IPL glory. The Deccan team back then was considered weak, but Gilchrist somehow brought the best out of each player.

    Gilchrist also led the Kings 11 Punjab team and was instrumental in the success they got as a franchise. In 74 matches that he captained, his team won 35 matches. He had a 47.29 winning percentage.

    Gilchrist no longer plays IPL but has been an asset, especially for the young players who played under him.

    IPL fantasy league 2020 – KhelChamps

    The IPL 2020 will start from 19th September, and so will the fantasy IPL league. Witness the tactical genius of all the captains in the upcoming season of the IPL. This year the IPL has moved to UAE to ensure the safety of players and staff. The IPL will be played with empty stands, an unusual sight that IPL fans will have to get used to.

    The IPL 2020 brings an exciting opportunity for all fantasy IPL to be a part of the IPL fantasy league 2020 and earn real cash. You can play fantasy cricket on new fantasy cricket apps as well as on dependable fantasy cricket app – KhelChamps App. With features such as quick withdrawal, ease of setting up a fantasy IPL team, massive bonuses, multiple cash-rich contests, and a 24*7 support team, KhelChamps App stands out from the rest.

    To get started with the KhelChamps app, you will need to download the app. It is available for iOS as well as Android users. Once you are done downloading the app, register on the same with your mobile number. Then embark on your IPL fantasy journey by creating a user id and setting a password.

    With so many exciting IPL matches ahead, what are you waiting for? Download the KhelChamps app and start enjoying the IPL t20 fantasy league.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here